Firm Logo

NJ Man Charged with Raping Young Girl Several Times, Officials Allege

Trenton, New Jersey, police have arrested a 44-year-old man with a total of nine felonies, which include sexual assault, endangering the welfare of a child, and aggravated sexual assault.

The victim is a 13-year-old girl not related to the defendant. The charges were brought after a phone call from a Trenton, New Jersey, home was made to the local police on June 21, 2022. The police arrived at the scene after reports of alleged sexual assault occurred. After arriving at the Trenton residence, they arrested the defendant, Shakir, and a criminal investigation was opened.

Detective Gloria Garcia is leading the case. She, along with others, found evidence of sexual assault that occurred this month, as well as in November and December of 2021. The defendant remains in jail.

Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey

New Jersey takes a strict stance on sexual assault charges, especially ones that involve aggravated assault or the endangerment of a child. New Jersey refers to rape charges as sexual assault. Sexual assault may include any activity that involves combined sexual activity with physical force or underage sexual contact with someone in a position of trust or control.

Aggravated sexual assault involves a victim under 13 years of age or a victim between 13-16 years in which the perpetrator is a family member or a person in a position of trust or control.

Sexual Assault Consequences in New Jersey

The potential consequences that the perpetrator, in this case, may receive depends on a number of factors, including which degree of charges they receive. In New Jersey, the following consequences are possible with sexual assault charges:

  • First-degree: A first-degree sexual assault charge can lead to between 10-20 years in prison and fines up to $200,000.
  • Second-degree: A second-degree sexual assault charge can lead to between 5-10 years in prison and fines up to $15,000.
  • Third-degree: A third-degree sexual assault charge can lead to between 3-5 years in prison and fines up to $15,000, as well as between 1-5 years of probation.
  • Fourth-degree: A fourth-degree sexual assault charge can lead to up to 18 months in prison, fines up to $10,000, and between 1-5 years of probation.

Cases that involve aggravated sexual assault, or sexual assault charges with a minor, are typically charged at the higher degrees. These strict laws are in place to help protect minors and those who become victims of sexual assault. The potential consequences of criminal sexual assault charges are strict.

If you’re being charged with any degree of sexual assault, it’s important to reach out to a lawyer as soon as possible. If charged, you could be subject to prison time and expensive fines. You may also be required to join Megan’s Law, which is a database that makes your information available to the public.

If you’re being wrongfully charged, it’s crucial to reach out to a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Criminal sexual assault charges can stay on your record for a long time, affecting your freedom and employment capabilities.

Contact an Experienced Hamilton Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey

Were you arrested or charged with sexual assault in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at The Davis Law Firm, LLC have successfully represented clients charged with sexual assault in Hamilton, Trenton, Ewing, Lawrence, and throughout New Jersey. Call (609) 498-7722 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 2653 Nottingham Way, Hamilton Township, NJ 08619.

The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.

Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.

Criminal IconCriminal Icon
Criminal DefenseInformation Center
DUI IconDUI Icon
DUI/DWI & TrafficInformation Center
Case Result IconCase Result Icon
Divorce & Family LawInformation Center
Divorce IconDivorce Icon
Domestic ViolenceInformation Center
© 2024 Davis Law Firm, LLC. All Rights Reserved.Site Map.