A Trenton man was recently handed 25 years to life sentence for child sex crimes involving six known victims. He was facing a total of 43 years to life. The 31-year-old man was indicted back in February on 25 charges by a grand jury. These charges included rape, 12 counts of pandering sexually oriented matter involving a minor, four counts of voyeurism, four counts of illegal use of a minor in a nudity-oriented material or performance, two counts of gross sexual imposition, one count of kidnapping for sexual motivation, and one count of disseminating matter harmful to juveniles. The man pleaded guilty to 10 of the aforementioned counts. His crimes took place over the course of three years between 2014 and 2017. According to police, his victims are between the ages of six- and 12-years-old, and there are still other unknown victims that were part of the child pornography that was found in the man’s possession. The detectives that searched the man’s apartment seized a tablet, laptop, flash drive, camera, and two SD cards. The Trenton man apologized for his actions prior to his sentencing. He has been declared a Tier III sex offender, which requires him to register his residence for the rest of his life should he ever be released from prison.
Sex Crimes Carry Strict Penalties in New Jersey
Like many other states, New Jersey has little tolerance for sex crimes. From a petty disorderly person offense, like harassment by offensive touching, to first degree aggravated sexual assault, there is a wide spectrum of offenses with a varying degree of penalties. If you are convicted of first degree aggravated sexual assault, you could be facing between 10 and 20 years in jail, in addition to a fine of up to $250,000. You will most likely have to register as a sex offender under Megan's Law, not be allowed contact with the victim(s) under Nicole’s Law, and receive Parole Supervision for Life. In order for your offense to constitute aggravated sexual assault, there are a few variables that factor in. If the victim is under 13 years old, or between the ages of 13 and 16 and you are a family member or have other control over them, it will be aggravated. If the act is committed during the commission of another crime or by use/threat of a weapon, or with the assistance of someone else, it also constitutes aggravated sexual assault. If your crime was not aggravated, you could be facing between five and 10 years in jail and a fine of up to $150,000 for second-degree sexual assault. You also face Parole Supervision for Life, Megan's Law and Nicole’s Law. Very few sex offenses do not carry a penalty of jail time. All of them do, however, impact your life for the long term. Having to register as a sex offender will cast a dark cloud over your name for years to come. The silver lining is that you still retain the right to legal representation. An experienced criminal defense lawyer will go a long way in protecting your rights.
Contact an Experienced Hamilton Township Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Sex Crime Charges in New Jersey
Were you arrested or charged with sex crimes in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at The Davis Law Firm, LLC have successfully represented clients charged with sex crimes in Hamilton, Trenton, Ewing, Lawrence, Princeton, East Windsor, West Windsor, Hopewell, Robbinsville, and throughout New Jersey. Call 609-587-9100 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 2653 Nottingham Way, Hamilton Township, NJ 08619.The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.