Firm Logo

Person Stabbed Multiple Times in Trenton

Local Trenton police are looking into a stabbing that occurred in late May. The crime occurred just after 1 a.m. near Lalor Street in Trenton, New Jersey. When the police arrived at the scene, they were met by an unidentified person with stab wounds. They transported the person to the hospital for treatment, where they were listed as stable.

No leads have been identified yet, and no one has been arrested for the crime. The police are looking for more information.

Stabbing Charges

Stabbing crimes can be charged in a few ways. The most common charge, if the victim makes it, is assault and battery charges. In cases that include a stabbing, it’s also likely to be charged as aggravated assault with a deadly weapon. Aggravated assault occurs when a person causes or attempts to cause serious bodily injury.

New Jersey’s Aggravated Assault Charges

In New Jersey, aggravated assault is an indictable offense. This means that it can be charged as a felony charge. Unlike simple assault, which includes less severe injuries and usually no weapons, many aggravated assault cases are tried as a felony. Aggravated assault charges in New Jersey can lead to:

  • Jail time between 18 months-10 years
  • Required probation
  • Expensive fines or penalties
  • Required anger management classes
  • Restitution payments
  • Ineligibility to own a firearm
  • Permanent criminal record with a felony charge

A criminal record with a felony charge can also have other life-changing effects. It can affect your ability to find or maintain employment. It may also prevent you from getting certain professional licenses.

The severity and extent of the consequences for aggravated assault charges vary, depending on the degree. Aggravated assault is either a second, third, or fourth-degree charge. A fourth-degree aggravated assault charge leads to less jail time and fines. A fourth-degree aggravated assault charge may lead to up to 18 months in prison and fines up to $10,000.

A third-degree aggravated assault charge may lead to prison time of up to five years and fines of up to $15,000.

A second-degree aggravated assault charge is the highest charge. This may include other charges like fleeing arrest or causing serious bodily injuries. A second-degree aggravated assault charge in New Jersey can lead to between 5-10 years in prison and fines up to $150,000.

Additionally, those who are charged with a second-degree aggravated assault charge may be subject to the No Early Release Act. This act requires convicted offenders to serve at least 85% of their sentence before they become eligible for parole.

Dealing with Aggravated Assault Charges?

Aggravated assault charges can affect your future. They can lead to required jail time or expensive fines. If you’re dealing with potential aggravated assault charges, it’s important to reach out to a lawyer as soon as possible. There may be defense options available that can get your charges reduced or dropped. Lowering charges can mean the difference between a few months in jail versus a few years. It’s important to give your criminal defense lawyer ample time to build your defense against aggravated assault charges.

Contact an Experienced Trenton Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Criminal Charges in Hamilton

Were you arrested or charged with aggravated assault in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at The Davis Law Firm, LLC have successfully represented clients charged with assault in Trenton, Hamilton, Ewing, Lawrence, and throughout New Jersey. Call 609-587-9100 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 2653 Nottingham Way, Hamilton Township, NJ 08619.

The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.

Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.

Criminal IconCriminal Icon
Criminal DefenseInformation Center
DUI IconDUI Icon
DUI/DWI & TrafficInformation Center
Case Result IconCase Result Icon
Divorce & Family LawInformation Center
Divorce IconDivorce Icon
Domestic ViolenceInformation Center
© 2024 Davis Law Firm, LLC. All Rights Reserved.Site Map.